Recent Searches

Bologna traditional food tour - Do Eat Better Experience

star-4.561 Reviews
Badge of Excellence
Bologna, Italy
Bologna traditional food tour - Do Eat Better Experience

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon3 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds


Bologna is known as a culinary hotspot, and this walking tour offers an excellent overview of the city’s food scene. Visit a historic center with local food boutiques in addition to several cafes. Sample the city’s culinary offerings including wines, cheese, pasta, espresso, and either gelato or cake depending on the season.
  • Walking food tour of Bologna
  • Local guide
  • Sample cuisine at several local spots
  • Learn about Bologna's food culture
Saved to wishlist!
Bottled water
Food tasting
Wine tasting
Coffee and/or Tea
Alcoholic Beverages
Food and drinks, unless specified
LaFeltrinelli Librerie , di Porta Ravegnana, 1, 40126 Bologna BO, Italy

in Piazza di Porta Ravegnana, in front of Feltrinelli bookstore.

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Minimum drinking age is 18 years
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Do Eat Better Experience
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Bologna traditional food tour - Do Eat Better Experience?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Bologna traditional food tour - Do Eat Better Experience.
What is the policy on sanitization during Bologna traditional food tour - Do Eat Better Experience?
A:The policy on sanitization is:

  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
See all safety measures taken by Bologna traditional food tour - Do Eat Better Experience.
What is the social distancing policy during Bologna traditional food tour - Do Eat Better Experience?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Bologna traditional food tour - Do Eat Better Experience.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More


61 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 61 reviews
Overall very great
, Aug 2022
Tour guide was amazing and very knowledgeable of this fantastic city. We went to 5 different venues that were each very unique and gave the trip a good range of tastes and smells. 🤌
Tasty evening!
, Jul 2022
We enjoyed tasting food at the different restaurants, seeing different areas of the city and meeting new people.
Just say no
, Jul 2022
Poor selection of food choices and non representative of what Bologna is known for with the exception of the pasta choice. This is our third food tour with Viator is 3 weeks. All have not been good as they have been in the past. The choices are very inexpensive low end restaurants. We actually had to stand outside waiting for a to go box of the equivalent of chicken wings. Take your money and enjoy an exceptional meal in a restaurant of your choice.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Good morning, the food on offer is specific to Bologna. Specifically: - fresh homemade tagliatelle alla bolognese - the chicken wings you mention are a version of the Bolognese schnitzel (typical of the city) - the pizza is gourmet and represents Italian excellence and there was a choice of local cold cuts as topping - traditional Bologna cake in a historic city restaurant - coffee This was also what was written in the description before you booked and the price of the food is quite expensive and you can check by yourself having a look at the website of the venues we went to. Best regards
We do not recommend this tour at all
, Jun 2022
This was the worst tour we have ever taken. Eleanor, our guide, just walked us to 4 mediocre places for bad food.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Good morning Rochelle, We are sorry to hear about your experience. Any feedback is important to us and is a time for growth. However, we find this review really unfair and argumentative without the desire or goal of providing suggestions to improve our service. First of all, you did not mention in the review that you arrived an hour later in the tour and therefore skipping the first stop. For this reason, you talk about 4 stops and not 5. Nevertheless, we asked Eleonora to have you order more at the third stop. In fact, we normally only get "cotoletta" there while for you we also ordered pasta. We thus tried to accommodate you more than we had to by trying to make up for the first stop you missed. We do not discuss personal taste; you may or may not like the dishes. Surely, however, calling it "bad food" is neither polite nor truthful. Since you know the names of the places we went to, you can look them up online and see the reviews. If the food was as bad as you defined it, I imagine you wouldn't have even finished it. Instead, you ate everything that was offered. Plus, one person of your group before leaving also told Eleonora that the tour was great. we would have preferred you to express your concerns during the tour and we could have modified and adjusted the tastings for you. In any case, we are disappointed when a customer leaves our tour unsatisfied, if you had informed us openly of any issues we could perhaps have found a solution together. Kind regards
Amazing food tour. Don't hesitate
, May 2022
Elenora was an amazing tour guide. We had pasta, pizza, coffee, a dessert, and veal. They were all local to Bologna and it was so good. I would 100% recommend anyone to do this tour. I'd even do it again myself. My wife and I loved it.
Would Recommend
, May 2022
We had a good guide who shared her knowledge of Bologna's cuisine and culture. Our group clicked with one another well, too. The conversation added to the experience. Have to agree other reviews, the food was delicious but...come hungry
Great food--terrific guide!
, May 2022
Eleanora shared her love of Bologna and her knowledge of its food and history while also giving us a good sense of the city's current vibes. She is friendly and always helpful. Our group clicked with one another well, too. The food was wonderful and we learned a lot. Come hungry!
Tutto beneeeee
, May 2022
I had a wonderful time during the tour and our guide had much knowledge about the food and the restaurants we stopped for eating. You really get to know some of the most traditional dishes of the city and I recommend you to come hungry :D
1 traveler found this review helpful
Not what we expected
, May 2022
Not what we expected. The food was good, very good and more than enough. A bit pitty was that our guide did not give any information about the city or the food. Her English wasn’t that good. So in the end: it was just a tour we we walked from one place to the other. At €76,- per person a bit expensive
1 traveler found this review helpful
Highly Recommend!
, Apr 2022
This food tour was a great way to see the city and learn about the culture of Bologna. Eleonora was friendly and knowledgeable. All of the food was delicious!
It’s all about the delicious food
, Apr 2022
Delicious food (too much - go very hungry). Lovely to walk round the city with the host and other guests. Deborah was a wonderful host - very friendly & knowledgeable. Only down side it was all about the food and not about the history of city so different from other food tours in that respect but still a good tour.
Worth the trip to Bologna
, Apr 2022
We enjoyed having a Bologna eating experience with other people from all over the world. Our guide Deborah was very kind and personable. She also read the group well, as we often just talked about a variety of topics, other than the food we were eating. She didn’t try to force the conversation only about food like I’ve experienced with other tour guides. The only thing I’d change about the experience is to give us the option to not eat veal parmigiana and instead choose pork or chicken parmigiana.
1 traveler found this review helpful
I’m stuffed !!!
, Dec 2021
Do NOT eat before you start. DO wear comfortable shoes as a lot of walking to burn calories. Great personable guide
First pasta stop! Food...
, Nov 2021
First pasta stop! Food was great and guide was sweet abd knowledgeable ! We made the best of it with the rain. Nice walking through the city.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Food Tour
, Jul 2021
Our guide Mara Was excellent. Except for the first and last restaurant we went to the other places were poor to mediocre. These were like fast food served in cardboard.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
We are sorry that the tour was not to your complete satisfaction, but perhaps you could have informed us of this during the tour. The food is of the highest quality, as evidenced by the many previous customers before you and especially by the fact that we go to one of the best places to eat fresh pasta and traditional cotoletta in Bologna. Clearly everyone has their own taste, but they usually like it a lot. Regarding some meals served in cartons, these are street food stops that are usually very popular with customers and especially among the city's inhabitants.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Great tour with nice guide
, Aug 2020
We had a great time with Mara. She told us so much about the food and the city. We had more than enough and it was really good. We went to four totally different places for the food that were al unique. Loved the tour would definitely recommend.
1 traveler found this review helpful
An intimate food tour with a local
Craig G
, Jan 2020
Our food tour of Bologna was a perfect introduction to Italian cuisine, with the lovely and knowledgeable Mara, a local with a family connection to the food industry. We tasted a range of food (meats, cheese, pasta, cakes) visiting a local market, traditional trattaoria and pastelaria. We had two children age 8 and 10 and they both enjoyed it , especially watching pasta being made from scratch. It was 3hrs + so good value. Recommended!
1 traveler found this review helpful
Bologna & Oriana
, Oct 2019
Awesome! The food was excellent but Oriana made it magnificent! She was knowledgeable, informative and a breath of fresh air!
Fun way to see the city
, Jul 2019
This was a great way to see the city and sample the cuisine. We ate plenty of food over the 3 hours. It was a warm day but we had a great time. Amelia was a wonderful host and guide. We enjoyed chatting with her. The food was delicious!
Excelente tour.
, Jun 2019
Excelente tour, eramos solo mi marido y yo con la guía. La guía, una genia, muy conocedora de la ciudad y de sus encantos culinarios. Super recomendable.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Bologna traditional food tour - Do Eat Better Experience
Bologna traditional food tour - Do Eat Better Experience


3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



1 day

Free Cancellation



2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



9 hours

Free Cancellation

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations