Recent Searches
Clear

Tour of The Freedom Trail

star-4.5380 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Boston, United States
Tour of The Freedom Trail

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon1 hour 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Travel back in time to colonial New England on a 90-minute historic walking tour. With a length of just 1.2-miles, you can enjoy the experience without breaking a sweat. Your costumed and in-character guide gives you an immersive understanding of life during America’s infancy. Hear exclusive stories about the country’s Founding Fathers and discover iconic historical sites. 
  • See the best of historical Boston in just 90 minutes
  • Enjoy the company of an in-character guide
  • Choose from two convenient start times
  • Hear insider stories about the Founding Fathers
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Gratuities
139 Tremont St , 139 Tremont St, Boston, MA 02108, USA

Costumed Guide will be in front of the Boston Common Visitor Center at 139 Tremont St. Arrive 15 minutes early. Late arrivals cannot be accepted. Closest Public Transport: Park St. Subway Station (600 feet away)

Samuel Adams Statue , Boston, MA 02109, USA

Ends in front of Faneuil Hall Marketplace. Closest Public Transportation: Government Center Station, Aquarium Station, or Haymarket Station. (All 5-10 minutes walking or less).

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Tour of the Freedom Trail
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "It was hard to hear him though so would be better if guides had microphones." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
380 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 380 reviews
star-5
The guide, Jeremiah...
DAWN_O
, Jul 2022
The guide, Jeremiah Poope, was terrific. Lots of history and plenty of humor. I would do it again and would be especially eager if we could have Jeremiah as our guide.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Not what we expected. Too...
Gabriel_P
, Jul 2022
Not what we expected. Too many long stories instead of clear explanation. Many people on the group were not locals/native English speakers and it was very hard to follow the instructor
star-5
Great Tour
Kristen_O
, Jul 2022
Great Tour guide. He was very interesting to listen to and very animated. Anyone wanting to go on a tour would not be disappointed.
star-1
Worst tour BY FAR we have taken with Viator.
Loots
, Jun 2022
Group size was about 80, completely unmanageable for a city tour. The tour guide’s preparation was at best adequate. She was entirely insensitive to the difficulty people at the rear end of the group had hearing and keeping up with her movement along the Trail. Iatrogenic should cease representing this tour. It besmirches your good name.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
We're very sorry about your bad experience. We have already refunded your tickets. Earlier in the day 911 was called for a tour guide who experienced a medical emergency while on tour. All guests were refunded. This led to a lot of traumatized guests, us being down one employee, and many guests asking to take the next tour instead. Unfortunately this made later tours larger than allowed under normal circumstances. In addition to the refund, we would also like to offer you a gift card to take our tour for free at a later time of your choosing. Email us at histrionicacademy@gmail.com if you'd like to take us up on the offer for a gift card in addition to the refund which has already been initiated.
star-3
Not for Teenagers with short attention spans
Raynee_B
, Jun 2022
I purchased this for 6 teenage grandchildren and they didn’t even last through the first discussion.
star-5
Enjoyable experience with...
Rebecca_S
, Jun 2022
Enjoyable experience with very knowledgeable guide. Learned a lot about the city’s early days through living history.
star-3
Keep on point
LAWRENCE_C
, Jun 2022
Our guide seemed very knowledgeable but would over-talk the stop and lose most of the groups attention because of rambling. Seemed to want to tell her version of how the poor and the slaves were wronged in this time than telling about the sites. I know the two can tie together but it got a bit too much. Several couples, including us walked away before it was over.
star-5
Great way to see the historical sites of Boston!
Adam_M
, Jun 2022
We had a great time on the Freedom Trail Walking Tour. Our guide was engaging, funny, informative and even had many suggestions on where to go next. We learnt about and saw where historical events occurred. Very enjoyable. Thanks!
star-5
Great tour guide, very...
Elizabeth_D
, Jun 2022
Great tour guide, very knowledgeable about the history and extremely personable. Enjoyed the entire experience
star-5
Fun and informative!
Jeffrey_B
, Jun 2022
Our guide - John Hancock - was terrific! He was very knowledgeable and very convincing in character. We learned a lot and had a great time.
star-3
Not what I signed up for
Inger_J
, May 2022
There was too much talking, not enough walking, and very few sites to see. We spent 1 hour and a half in the Boston common area park and cemetery. We signed up to see more than that for that period of time, so we ended up leaving the tour at 1pm.
star-5
Where is Ben Franklin ?
Joseph_T
, May 2022
Guide was great. Knowledgeable about Boston and the history of Boston. And he was very good with the kids.
star-5
Wonderful time
Mari_K
, May 2022
the wonderful story telling of Jeffery. We also enjoyed the facts that Jeffery was able to bring to life. Jeffery took a lot of care to make sure my handicapped wife was included in all the tour. He made extra effort to help her get into the cemetery so she did not miss anything.
star-5
Freedom walk boston
Howie_W
, May 2022
Steve was an excellent narrator and walk was very enjoyable. Steve had a very pleasant attitude and added many tidbits that made the walk a lot of fun. He also included the children and made them a big part of the experience.
star-2
Tour guide matters.
Eileen_W
, May 2022
We arrived as instructed 15 minutes early for tour. We are informed our tour guide was not there, might come or might not come. We then were offered Jeremiah Poop to start our tour until our tour guide arrived. We had 15 minutes of fun, knowledge and enjoyment with Jeremiah. Our tour guide arrived and then fun, knowledge and enjoyment ended. Not sure of her name she did not introduce herself. We were told to gather around, she asked if we were all there, not sure how we were suppose to now this. When no one answered she scolded us and said "when I ask a question I expect an answer". And so it begun, we were ordered scalded and lectured for the rest of the tour. I feel we were not given a broad enough history of the areas we saw, she seemed to have an agenda ....
star-5
Great historical tour
Joe_R
, May 2022
Great stories and unknown facts regarding our US history. And we hit most of the sites on the Freedom Trail.
star-1
Eats of time and money
Douglas_G
, May 2022
None . The group leader was not prepared. Stated incorrect information ( we checked on google several times ). Was not real pleasant, uninspiring . While I understand we were his 1st tour and wanted to give him lots of slack , he was totally overwhelmed for the tour . I’m sorry to be writing this but since I was emailed I thought as a buisness owner you should be made aware . My wife and I left after 45 minutes and did the walk ourselves.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
He rose from the dead to tell tales
Michael_H
, Apr 2022
This guy was amazing! Absolutely fantastic! Details strories I’ve never heard! Ohcoucigdigxigxigxigxigxkgxkgxitxitdxigxigxixigxigxigxigxiyxigxiyxigxogxogxkgxogxoohxogxoyxogxoyxoyxoycio thx
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Freedom Trail is a Must!
Kristen_J
, Apr 2022
Our tour guide Poope was fabulous. He was engaging and full of great knowledge. We all had a wonderful time and learned a lot.
star-5
John Hancock - the best guide!
Anita_B
, Apr 2022
John Hancock was a great guide and kept it interesting and easy to follow. Our boys (11/13) pretended to be uninterested however after the tour both admitted they really liked it! 👍🏻 Success!! Well done JH. ☺️

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Tour of The Freedom Trail
Tour of The Freedom Trail

star-4.5378

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$26.00

star-5142

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$28.50

star-4.529

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$20.00

star-4.5152

1 hour 10 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$30.00

star-4.57221

1 hour 20 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$57.34

star-4.5512

1 hour 46 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$26.00

star-4.595

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$20.00

star-5400

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$37.50

star-535

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$27.50
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations