Recent Searches
Clear

Zurich City Highlights Tour with Felsenegg Cable Car and Ferry Ride

|
Zürich, Switzerland
Zurich City Highlights Tour with Felsenegg Cable Car and Ferry Ride

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours 15 minutes  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Explore Zurich on a half-day sightseeing tour of the city. Climb aboard a luxury coach for a panoramic tour of top sights like the Swiss National Museum, the Zurich Opera House and the Old Town, and then take to the water for a scenic ferry crossing of Lake Zurich. Marvel at the grand architecture of Fraumünster Church and the Bahnhofstrasse and then gaze at sweeping Alpine vistas as you ride a cable car to the vertiginous Felsenegg vantage point.
  • Half-day tour of Zurich highlights and the surrounding areas
  • See Zurich sights including the Swiss National Museum, Bahnofstrasse and Fraumunster Church
  • Take a cable car up to Felsenegg and delight in phenomenal views of the Alps and mountain towns
  • Admire the affluent Goldcoast area on the eastern shore of Lake Zurich on a coach tour

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Explore Zurich’s highlights from three different perspectives: cable car, ferry boat, and luxury coach.
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Fully guided tour by professional multilingual guide
Aerial cable car ride up to Felsenegg
Ferry ride across Lake Zurich
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Food and drinks
Best of Switzerland Tours AG , Sihlquai Coach Parking, Limmatstrasse 4, 8005 Zürich, Switzerland
1:00 PM
This activity will end right where it started.
Climb aboard a comfortable, air-conditioned coach in central Zurich and embark on a panoramic sightseeing tour of the city. Receive a historical introduction to Zurich from your guide and direct your attention to landmarks such as the Swiss National Museum and the Zurich Opera House. Look out at Lake Zurich during a brief interlude, and then cruise past monuments like the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology and Zurich’s art museum.

Disembark for a leisurely stroll around Zurich’s charming Old Town (Altstadt), and admire quaint houses and grand political centers. Capture photographs of the world’s largest clock face on St Peter’s Church, and gaze at the prismatic stained glass windows that decorate Fraumünster Church. 

Reboard your coach for the short and scenic journey to Meilen, where a sightseeing ferry awaits. Enjoy a tranquil crossing of the lake, and then board a cable car on arrival in Adliswil. Ascend to a dizzying height of 2,630 feet (800 meters) and absorb sweeping vistas of the snow-capped spires that surround.

When your tour comes to a conclusion, return to your original Zurich departure point in a comfortable coach.
Itinerary
Pass By:  
Zurich
Board a comfortable coach in central Zurich (Sihlquai Coach Terminal) to begin your city tour.
Pass By:  
Bahnhofstrasse
Your guide will talk about the city's history and point out landmarks including the castle-like Swiss National Museum, the financial district, and the Zurich Opera House.
Pass By:  
Opernhaus Zurich
You will pass the Zurich Opera House.
Stop At:  
Lake Zurich
Enjoy a brief stop at the picturesque Lake Zurich, then move on to the university quarter with the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH Zurich) and Zurich's art museum.
Duration: 10 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Old Town
Take a stroll around Old Town (Altstadt) with your guide and see the houses of the guilds that once dominated the city's political and cultural life. Have your camera ready to take photos of the largest clock face in Europe -- located on St Peter's Church -- and the gorgeous stained-glass windows of Fraumünster Church designed by artist Marc Chagall.
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Fahre Horgen-Meilen
Travel along the 'Gold Coast' to Meilen, where you will board the ferry to cross Lake Zurich to Horgen.
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Luftseilbahn Adliswil-Felsenegg LAF
Continue your tour by traveling to Adliswil, where you'll take a cable car up 2,630 feet (800 meters) to Felsenegg, a popular vista point. Take in awe-inspiring views of the snow-capped Alps and the quaint towns along Lake Zurich.
Duration: 40 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Zurich
Your compact yet comprehensive tour of the highlights of Zurich and the surrounding countryside ends agian in central Zurich in the early evening.
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 12 hours of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • Operates in all weather conditions
  • March 2022: Technical maintenance of Felsenegg aerial cable car. The aerial cable car ride will be replaced by Dolderbahn cogwheel train ride to another viewpoint.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 48 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Best of Switzerland Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Zurich City Highlights Tour with Felsenegg Cable Car and Ferry Ride?
A:The policy on sanitization is:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
See all safety measures taken by Zurich City Highlights Tour with Felsenegg Cable Car and Ferry Ride.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "The car park was poorly organised and people and buses were everywhere, so take care and keep an eye on children." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
673 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 673 reviews
star-3
So, so tour
Mervyn_F
, Jun 2022
Having traveled the Swiss Alps for two weeks, we were unimpressed with this tour. Being in two languages, when billed as an English tour, limited the guide's ability to expound on things, per his own admission.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Mervyn, Thank you very much for taking the time to rate your experience on our extended city tour of Zurich! We are sorry to hear the city tour did not live up to your expectations. As stated in the tour description, the tour is guided in English and Spanish by a professional multilingual guide, which is highly appreciated by many of our non-English speaking guests. As our guides share all information equally in both languages, all guests get a great overview of Zurich and its surroundings in just over four hours, but it is certainly true that more information could be shared on a monolingual tour. We hope that you will still keep your visit to Zurich in fond memory and look forward to welcoming you again during your next visit! Best regards, Amanda from Best of Switzerland Tours
star-5
Nice half day outing!
Ally_F
, Jun 2022
Our guide Guillermo was great, and the bus ride was easy, learned a good deal about Zurich and Switzerland in general. Cable car ride to the top was lovely, stunning views of Zurich, and ferry boat ride was nice. Worth the half day trip!
star-5
Great Zurich Overview and Sites
Lisa_S
, Jun 2022
Fernando helped give us an excellent overview of Zurich history. We hit some of the top sites and the beautiful WX made it a relaxing day
star-5
Zürich sightseeing
ChristineHelle_V
, Jun 2022
This tour really gives you value for money! By bus, up in the air by cable car and a boatride :) The sights, the view, the guide etc. was perfect!!
star-5
Great tour.
Kuldip_K
, Jun 2022
Exploring Zurich City with guide. It's lot of fun. Going with groups is another experience. We appreciate coach driver and guide. Specially
star-4
Great trip to see highlights of Zurich
Denise_V
, Jun 2022
We were not in Zurich long so the bus ride around town gave us the opportunity to see various buildings and neighborhoods that we would not have had time to see. We knew going in that we were not stopping at all these locations, so it met our needs completely. The ferry ride to the other side of the lake was uneventful, but the drive to the cable cars was up the side of the mountain and we saw lovely homes and scenery. The cable car ride was beautiful and the vistas we saw were amazing.
star-5
Zurich highlights
James_J
, Jun 2022
Elizabeth was a great tour guide! Tour was well planned and executed. Saw a lot of Zurich. Would highly recommend
star-3
Hot in Zurich
Joan_W
, May 2022
Our guide did her best to make this an enjoyable tour but it was an uphill battle. It was unseasonably warm and the motor coach was old, cramped and no airconditionng. It was a sold out tour so we were crammed in like sardines and the body heat was stiffling. To make matters worse the driver was a start and stop kind of guy. Very rough ride and he rode with his window down so what little airconditioning there was couldn't begin to cool the bus. I felt bad for the guide. I wouldn't recommend this tour because the company running the Best of Zurich tour obviously doesn't care to upgrade their coaches and drivers.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Joan, Thank you very much travelling with Best of Switzerland Tours and for sharing your experience of our extended Zurich city tour. We are sorry to hear that the temperature aboard the bus hindered you from fully enjoying your tour of Zurich. All our buses are comfortable travel coaches with air-conditioning, but we do understand that it can still get quite warm in a fully occupied bus. Unfortunately, it is forbidden by law to run the engine, and thus the air conditioning, while the bus is stationary. This also means that the bus inevitably warms up during the stops at the lakeside, the guided walking tour of the Old Town, the ferry crossing, and your time on the Felsenegg viewpoint. Please note that this was not the fault of your driver, who certainly tried his best to at least let in some fresh air. Our experienced drivers are skilled at weaving through the traffic of a busy afternoon in the city. Nevertheless, it is impossible to avoid unpredictable braking maneuvers caused by other road users. To guarantee the safety on our tours, we thus instruct our guests to keep their seat belts fastened and to remain seated while the bus is in motion. We apologize for the inconvenience caused and hope to welcome you back on one of our tours during your next visit at a cooler time of year. Best regards, Your Best of Switzerland Tours Team
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Magnificent View of a Magnificent City
GustavoAlberto_C
, May 2022
Trudy was a lovely guide, so informative and entertaining. Dispite the problem with the air conditioned of the bus, the tour was perfect.
star-5
Good to shop
Suresh_J
, May 2022
You're tour guide was very nice, eleborat everything very good. We will recommend other people in our country
star-3
The experience at the top...
Julian_P
, May 2022
The experience at the top of the mountain was too rushed. We had 10 mins to enjoy the view and use facilities and/or get something to eat or drink. Didn’t need to drive past university and other unknown places. More time at top of the mountain to take in the views would have been fabulous
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Julian, Thank you very much for taking part in our extended city tour and for sharing your feedback! We are sorry to hear that you only got to spend 10 minutes on top of the Felsenegg viewpoint and totally understand that you would have liked more time to enjoy the views. As Switzerland is very well known for its excellent education system and its universities with world-famous Nobel Prize winners such as Albert Einstein, no city tour would be complete without passing through the university quarter. If traffic permits to run our tour according to the schedule, the stay at Felsenegg is 30-40 minutes long, which allows our guests to both learn about our education system and take in the magnificent views from the viewpoint. However, navigating the city is always a challenge, and road works and diversions seem to have taken their toll on your travel date. We hope that you were still able to enjoy your stay in Zurich to the fullest and look forward to welcoming you back on our tours during your next visit to Zurich! Best regards, Your Best of Switzerland Tours Team
star-2
Not as advertised
Tracie_D
, May 2022
The majority of this tour takes place on a tour bus. It was very hot as the a/c was not working. Nearly all sights pointed out were on the right side of the bus and couldn’t be seen. The ferry ride is less than 10 mins. If you are unable to walk this tour may be for you but I found it a waste of 4 hours.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Tracie, Thank you very much for joining our extended city tour and for sharing your feedback with us! The aim of the tour is to give our guests a good overview of Zürich and its surroundings in just over four hours. As the Old Town can easily be explored on foot, we include a guided walk of around 30 minutes in the heart of the city centre. However, the rest of the tour along the Gold Coast and to the Felsenegg cable car is conducted by bus due to time constraints. With temperatures below 20° C (68° F), it is not very common in Europe to cool down the bus. However, if this is requested by our guests and the tour guide is informed accordingly during the tour, we can always make an exception and ask the driver to lower the temperature. We are sorry to hear that the tour did not live up to your expectations and hope that you still enjoyed your stay in Zurich to the fullest! Best regards, Your Best of Switzerland Tours Team
star-5
Fantastic experience, exceeded our expectations
Nader_V
, May 2022
The tour guide was very patient, courteous, knowledgeable and friendly. We highly recommend choosing him as your guide.
star-5
Great tour - well...
Mark_G
, May 2022
Great tour - well organised, informative commentary. Would recommend to anyone wanting to see the key sites of Zurich and the surrounding area.
star-5
Wonderful Afternoon Tour
Amy_M
, May 2022
This tour gives a great overview of Zurich and the countryside. We started with a bus tour interspersed with a stop at the lake and a brief walking tour of an historic area of town. Then we took the bus on the "Gold Coast" of the lake to the ferry, for a short ferry ride across the lake. From there, we went to the Felsenegg lookout point, before returning to Zurich. Although I'd done the same tour by myself 10 years ago, it was great to do again with my parents. The views were wonderful and the guide provided a lot of context to the sights. Would recommend and would do again :)
star-4
Fun easy informative
EricH_S
, May 2022
Guide Daniel was cheerful, clear and smart. Easy and fun outing, good for introduction to Zurich. Great view from lookout.
star-5
An afternoon in Zurich
Duff_C
, Apr 2022
The tour touched major highlights of the city and surrounding areas. Very well organized with just enough time at the scheduled stops. Our guide, Annette, was very knowledgeable. The only minor challenge was her German accent for an English speaking tour. An overall very good experience!
star-2
Have a coffee or wine instead
Mayra_H
, Apr 2022
Description is misleading. Cable car ride is 5 min and you are told 4 and 5 times that If you are a slow walker head back earlier. Ferry ride is 10 min although beautiful your entire excision is 4 hours. This tour was filled with mindless minutiae and person views on cost of living and health care. There was no time given to just enjoy your views without constant chatter.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Mayra, Thank you for sharing your personal impressions of our extended city tour in Zurich! The Felsenegg cable car is Zurich’s only cable car and offers stunning views of the lake, the city and the snow-capped Alps. Thus, it is a nice add-on and contributes to the value of the tour despite the ride not taking more than 5 minutes. The ferry ride across Lake Zurich allows our guests to get some fresh air and to take pictures of the beautiful surroundings. However, it is not a sightseeing cruise and is not marketed as such. Our city tours are an excellent choice to get a good overview of Zurich and its surroundings in four hours. We take great pride in providing our guests with historical information about our city. Yet, personal anecdotes from a tour guide are the main reason why guests book a live-guided tour and are highly encouraged. We are sorry to hear that the information provided was not of interest to you and still hope that you enjoyed your stay in Zurich to the fullest! Best regards, Your Best of Switzerland Tours Team
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Zurich
Albert_G
, Apr 2022
Overall good experience. Could do without the local political jibberish by the guide. Also, time at the top could/ should be cut in half. One more thing, the local marathon, I’m sure was scheduled months in advance. The alternate route was a waste of time and our money!
star-1
Don’t bother …
Leahjhoward
, Apr 2022
We had taken two trips the days prior to this with another company and cannot speak highly enough of them. This trip was a stark contrast. The tour guide seemed disinterested and rude. The town was closed off due to the marathon. I understand that’s not there fault but we weren’t pre warned of this. Everything was rushed. Got to the cable car and we were crammed in with one half of the bus while the other half waited for their squashed ride. We couldn’t see out and it was a most unpleasant experience. We had to sign a waiver for a short walk around a wooded area which honestly was rather bizarre to me. The restaurant was run by rude staff who again were disinterested and whipped the menus out our hands and instead presented us with a menu of chips or a ham and cheese sandwich as our only two options. My friend ordered a ham and cheese sandwich and we watched as the waiter walked around with a just a cheese sandwich outside for about ten minutes. After finally dropping it at our table, we didn’t complain but instead she started to eat it. It was stale and overpriced rubbish. Such an anticlimactic tour after enjoying our days prior to this. I wouldn’t recommend this tour at all! It wasn’t the cheapest either…
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Leah, Thank you very much for participating in our extended Zurich city tour during the Zurich Marathon! We very much regret to hear that your experience and the service of your tour guide did not meet your expectations. Whenever possible, our guides and drivers are instructed to follow the advertised routing. In the rare case of major construction work or public events such as the Zurich Marathon, we reserve the right to change the routing without prior notice. The Felsenegg is a very popular recreational area for visitors and locals alike. With such a major event happening in the city centre, we can imagine that even more people escaped into nature than on a regular weekend. To keep the waiting time as short as possible for all visitors, the cable cars were filled to capacity (max. 20 guests). After a 5-minute ride, our guests can take a short walk, enjoy the stunning view or have a drink or snack at the restaurant. Switzerland is known for its high standard of living and the high costs associated with it, which also reflects in restaurant prices. Nevertheless, we regret that you were not satisfied with the service and will be happy to pass on your feedback to the restaurant. We hope that you still enjoyed a wonderful stay in Zurich and that you will give us a second chance to convince you of our great price-performance ratio during your next visit. Best regards, Your Best of Switzerland Tours Team

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Zurich City Highlights Tour with Felsenegg Cable Car and Ferry Ride
Zurich City Highlights Tour with Felsenegg Cable Car and Ferry Ride

star-4672

4 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$65.62

star-545

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$90.64

star-4.5102

5 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$75.47

star-3.582

2 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$37.19

star-4109

5 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$76.56

star-3.5150

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$37.19

star-383

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$63.44

star-487

9 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$148.75

star-4.59

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$53.32
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations